//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Special Report from Washington-Dulles Airport

Going on hour 3 of my 6 hour lay-over in Washington Dulles. It’s a nice airport. After a long skype date with one dear Sarah Foushee I am contemplating what I am going to do for the next three or four hours.

I am going to Bulgaria today. That is a weird statement. One I didn’t think I would say until about two months ago when I got recruited to be a part of this opera festival. If anyone knows anything about Bulgaria, please let me know, I have no idea what I am in for. But it’s an adventure, this is an adventure. It is just about anything but normal. Normalcy is a little bit over rated though don’t you think Dear Reader? I certainly think so, But who am I? I’m just a girl with a slightly heightened sense of self importance because she has a blog where people read her thoughts.

I am going to Bulgaria today, and unfortunately that statement is the only one I can muster about this experience. I am going to Bulgaria today. I’m sad to leave Boston, that I haven’t said yet. This is a great opportunity and obviously I need to take it and go but at the same time I’m sad about leaving when I’ve only been here for such a short amount of time. I used to be terrified of flying. My friend Laura Parker and I were on a plane that was struck by lightning, and ever since then I’ve calmed down about it. I am a more than decent flyer now.

I don’t know about you Dear Reader, but when I am in the airport for a long time, like I am today, I like to play air port games. My favorite air port game to play is probably, “I’m not me” which involves making up a character whose life and travel plans are the opposite of yours (usually cooler and more interesting) and then acting as said character (or multiple characters if you so choose) all day in the airport. It involves a lot of lying to strangers and a lot of thinking on your feet, but it keeps the creative juices flowing during the day. Today, when I was thinking through what character I felt like being, I noticed that for the first time truth was more exciting than fiction.  I don’t need to be Irish or going to Nepal or the middle east because I am actually an opera singer who is ACTUALLY going to Bulgaria. what? Is that real? how did I get this job? I still don’t quite understand.

It’s 2. Our flight leaves for London-Heathrow at 6:40, Lands at 7 am Tomorrow, then we transfer to a flight to Sofia which lands at 1:40, THEN we have a lay-over and we get to Varna at  8:40 Tomorrow night. Which means I will finally get to my destination at roughly this time Tomorrow…

Left the house at 5:50 this morning. 32 hours of travel… woof.

this was kind of a weird post. I apologize. A lot of crazy stuff has happened this past week that I should be writing about, but my energy is slowing down as I finish eating this gianormous chocolate chip cookie. I promise, however, to fill you in as soon as something interesting happens!

 

Until Later Dear Reader.

About astephenson2

Glorified Telemarketer.

Discussion

One thought on “Special Report from Washington-Dulles Airport

  1. i hope your flying experience this trip (and forever) are much better than the one where our plane got struck by lightening. something we wont forget, for sure! have an amazing time in bulgaria, i can’t wait to learn all about it!! miss you!

    Posted by Laura | June 12, 2011, 2:03 am

Leave a comment

Categories